While You Were Napping

lets be honest, i wish they were napping

day 2: 3 Fears

on July 2, 2013

Continuing the 30 things my children should know about me: 3 fears

1. I am afraid of the dentist. You have to understand, I’ve been going since I was 5 to not only the dentist but the orthodontist and the oral surgeon. It seems no matter how hard I try to take good care of my teeth they are just never clean enough or something is genetically wrong with my mouth. Some people are afraid of spiders and clowns. Mine is the dentist.

2. For a long time I feared, I would never get married and have a family. When you see everyone around you getting married and having kids and you are just doing day to day and nothing changes, it can be scary when that is your desire and you are doing everything right. Not sleeping around, honoring God with your life, it can be very frustrating. But the great thing about this fear is that I over came and understood that God was directing my life. If I had met your dad earlier or later I may have missed out on some great opportunities. I guess my fear has moved from a fear of never having it all to possibly losing it all! I pray every day that God would guard, protect and preserve our family. That He would keep you each safe.

3. I have a fear of failure. I think this may be an oldest child trait. I often fear I may not be enough so I don’t put myself out or afraid what will others think! Well you will never know until you actually do it. I read a quote the other day. If you live a life without failure then have you really lived at all..or something along those lines. When I have fear, I usually quietly sing..God has not given us a spirit of fear, but He has given to us a spirit of power a spirit of hope and a sound mind.

I hope you never have any fears. I know you will, its human and its ok to be afraid. Just like its ok to be happy angry sad. But we are blessed to have Christ who helps us conquer all of our fears and be who HE has created us to be. I love you my Hanna and Kyle! I hope you will be brave and courageous in all that you do and are faced with.

– Mom

Leave a Reply

