While You Were Napping

lets be honest, i wish they were napping

a visit to Dr. Suess

on May 29, 2013

I started this post a few weeks ago (as you can tell we are like 1/2 through operation: broken arm…lol) just reflecting

today was not my favorite day. all week long had been weird. but in all of its Weirdness, I loved absolutely loved that today, days later after the weirdness I can see God’s hand at work in my life and I am eternally grateful for that.ย 

You see it started by reading my schedule wrong. I was so excited to have Wednesday off. Planned on doing some grocery shopping, had my coupons ready, I even volunteered to watch a friends little boy so she could have a moment to herself for a change. Then on Tuesday, I thought ย I should check the schedule. :/ I was off on Thursday.

So I sucked it up went to work on Wednesday because my bad attitude said well if I have to be there then I’m getting coffee. Only to get stuck in the slowest line on earth. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wednesday night as we were getting ready for bed the kids were playing in the living room jumping off of an ottoman toybox thing that we have. The same one that a while back Kyle busted his nose while jumping from the couch. First let me say this disclaimer. We are not fans of our children jumping on furniture. They have been told 1/2 million times to stop, put in time out even. They don’t care.ย 

So Hanna jumped and crashed on her arm. She whined a little so I decided ok lets just do bedtime. I did a mom check on her arm you know, bend it wiggle your fingers, and sent her to bed.

well she woke up in the middle of the night crying about her arm so I made an appointment. the doctor had us take xrays, he thought maybe it was dislocated or sprained…after we got xrays it was clear. She broke it. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So we were sent to a peds ortho doctor in Hurst, Tx…which is 3 hours away. Before we made it to the ortho doctor. She tripped and fell pusher her elbow out of place by 30%. So we were scheduled surgery, where they put 2 pins in. Surgery went great, besides trying to keep her still to keep her elbow elevated and iced for 48 hours. And Baths have definitely been interesting. Poor Girl, she loves water!

All week long though I kept seeing God’s goodness. If I had Wednesday off, I might not have been able to get Hanna in to see the doctor. I had gas points from grocery shopping that took .45 off of each gallon up to 20 gallons of gas. When I was talking to Hanna about going to see the doctor she started to ask a question by saying.. Mom when I go see Dr. Suess? lol. The innocence of a child. She hasn’t been in too much pain. I know she wants her daddy but she has been very kind in allowing me to love on her.

So we will have a DRY summer, make lots of trips to Ft. Worth over the next few months. Not at all how I planned. But sometimes that is how life goes. I heard a quote on the radio. Our emotions define us or they refine us. This past year and definitely challenged me to think about how I react to situations. My attitude is not always the most…fragrant, in fact I’ve had to apologize on many times and remind myself I’m an adult. I am so thankful to have great friends, family, an awesome church, and a SUPER husband who from the other side of the world can make anything better. But most of all a loving God who loves me in spite of me. I’ve really been challenged to take on an attitude like Hanna. Where ever we go..people ask her about her arm and she tells them, and its always followed by a BIG smile and Wanna sign my cast??? ๐Ÿ™‚ She is such a good girl, thank you Lord for blessing me to be her momma ๐Ÿ™‚ Kyle has been really sweet about it to, helping sister whenever she needs him. He has also learned the word ottoman from hearing the story repeated so many times. lol.

We go on Tuesday to get her pins pulled out at the Dr’s office. Doesn’t that sound like a blast? But I told Hanna we will be getting ice cream afterwards with (at her request) Mrs Dawn! We also got the ok from Daddy to get…a WATERPROOF cast because summers in OK are hot, no joke. Now we can visit the spray park! Was that an angelic chorus playing…yes friends yes it was.

I know that things are always going to happen with kids. It’s a part of life. Although I do expect a thank you from mine for never breaking a bone because this is no joke. You’re welcome mom and dad! ha! lol…So I don’t know the exact purpose of this post. Maybe you are having a tough day. Look for the silver lining, the karma, the blessing in it..its there. I believe its God at work in our lives and I for one and truly thankful for that.

Happy Wednesday
Amanda

loves

Leave a Reply

