While You Were Napping

lets be honest, i wish they were napping

Monster Hat Part One

on September 26, 2012

ImageFor some reason it keeps turning this photo sideways…anyways. I posted a few days ago that my husband gave me a challenge to make a monster hat for our son Kyle after seeing some at the Childrens Place. After searching the internet for free patterns and inspiration..I decided to just give it a go on my own. Scary! I always use a pattern. Not using a pattern when sewing isn’t scary to me..it can be fixed. But with crocheting if you mess up you have to undo all that hard work you just did…its frustrating to me.

Anyways..Its not done. It kinda looks like a pacman…gonna have to fix that..unless you want a pacman pattern. then ta-da you’re welcome. lol I’m looking to ad some Teeth..and either a puff on top or some horns..

You are welcome to use this pattern for your personal use, please do not copy or sell it. You are welcome to sell any items you make from it just please link back to my blog. My son is 18 months so that is the size.  : ) I have not had anyone else but myself test this pattern, if you find a mistake please let me know and I’ll update it. You are welcome to share just link back to my page. 

I’m a little nervous to share this! lol 

Monster Hat – “Kyle” – size 18 months

Hook H 5.00, Red Heart Yarn:

R1: Ch 2

R2: Work 10 HDC in CH2 from previous Round, Slip Stitch together, CH1

R3: 2 HDC in each HDC from previous round, SS, CH1

R4: 1 HDC in each of the HDC from the previous round, SS, Ch1

R5: 2HDC in each of the HDC from the previous round, SS, CH1

R5: 2HDC in CH1, followed by 1 HDC in the following5 CH – Repeat 6 times, 2HDC, 1 HDC in following 3 HDC from previous round, SS, CH1

R6-9: 1 HDC in HDC from previous round.

R10: Single Crochet in each of the HDC from previous round.

SWITCH COLOR

R11: Singe Crochet in each of the HDC from previous Round

R12,13,14,15: HDC in each of the SC from the previous Round

Fasten off, weave ends.

Ear Flaps:

Find where you’d like your first ear flap:

R1-2: Ch1 8 HDC

R3: Ch 1 DC2HDC, 4 HDC, DC2HDC

R4: CH 1 6 HDC

R5: CH 1, DC2HDC, 2 HDC, DC2HDC

R6: DC2HDC, DC2HDC Fasten off, weave ends.

For the other ear flap…you can put where you think is even on the other side, or you can skip approximately 20 spaces. 

 

R6: 1 HDC in each of the HDC from the previous round, SS, CH1

That should keep you busy for a while right? I’ll have part 2 with the details up next : ) Hope you enjoy and I didn’t do too horrible of a job, explaining

Happy Crocheting,

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

