While You Were Napping

lets be honest, i wish they were napping

Meal Planning

on May 7, 2011

So we have started doing a meal calendar for our house. However we skipped or had dinner plans changed for the past couple of days so we have a couple of extra meals. We’ve saved a lot of money between that and buying from Sam’s Club.I think we might have to start getting groceries at our supermaket instead of WalMart..they give coupons with your receipt and have a loyalty card..any thoughts?

Today I’m making Crock Pot Chicken Cacciatore 🙂 My mom used to make it and I’ve been craving it 🙂

I got the recipe from cooks.com

3-4lbs Boneless/Skinless thighs and breast (I just used 4 breast)

1 lrg onion thinly sliced

2 Large Red or Green Bell Peppers sliced (I used 1/2 a green and 1 red for color)

3 cloves of garlic crushed — I learned an easy way (From Chef Husband) how to break a garlic head and how to crush garlic…hes so patient with me!

1/2 tsp Basil and Oregano

1 6oz can Tomato Paste

Fresh Mushrooms sliced, we love mushrooms, so we did a whole container

2 bay leaves, we didn’t have whole Bay leaves so I just shook some of our crushed ones on it..not sure how much

1 8oz can Stewed Tomatoes with chilies (aka rotel)

salt and pepper

2 cups Burgundy Wine, We used 2 cups of Chicken Broth. Oklahoma (well at least Lawton) does not sell Wine in grocery stores so you have to go to a liquor store..I have two small children and no time to be visiting liquor stores, not even for cooking. Tyler said its just a flavor so the broth should be fine.

Parmesan Cheese for sprinkling before serving.

Place sliced onions on the bottom of the crock pot and chicken on top. Stir together remaining ingredients and pour over chicken. Cook on low 7-9 hours or high 3-4 hours (were doing high), Serve over pasta (were having egg noodles).

I’ll let you know how it goes! It makes quite a bit so I think we will freeze half since its just me and Tyler for the most part. I know Hanna will probably pick at it.

So how do you do meals at your house?

Leave a Reply

