While You Were Napping

lets be honest, i wish they were napping

bam bam continued…

on October 19, 2010

well miss banana decided she would go to sleep last night EARLY what a treat for mom (and dad).

So I worked some more on the outfits…

First thing I needed to know is how long I needed the elastic to be in the bam bam out fit. I am making it for a 2T, so I took a pair of my daughters 18 mons pants since I didn’t have the little one to measure (measuring the kiddo is the best bet)..and I added an inch. So I cut a piece of elastic 19 inches..

I took photos but then I had realized that I did not have the memory card in the laptop from the earlier post! geeze louise! sorry…you’ll have to use you imagination…

so then I took the yard of orange fabric, folded it in half and cut it at about the 1/4th. Again, it depends on how tall your little one is.When I folded my orange material in half it was double the size of the elastic. You can decide how much over the elastic you want to have.

Then I used pinking shears to cut the diagonals on the bottom of the skirt. This way the material won’t ravel, and i don’t have to hem it. Chances are he is just going to wear it once so why do extra extra work right??

Now remember all your FUN triangles…this is where they come in..You have 2 options…

Plan A: Quick and Easy –glue them suckers on
Plan B: sew them on.

I went with plan B, mainly because I know if it was Hanna, she would find a way to peel them off and it didn’t take that long.

Pin the black triangles on to your fabric, spaced randomly, its up to you how much or how little you use...

When finished…

ta da! exciting..yes i know...

Then begin to sew them on to your orange material..one by one by one…it will look like its going to take a while but I think the time you would take letting glue dry its the same…

Then once you have all of those on there…take your straight edge at the top fold a little wider than the elastic and sew a straight line…I read somewhere if you have trouble sewing a straight line, a trick is to put a rubber band on your sewing machine and watch the rubber band instead of the line you are sewing…I don’t know if it works but I read it…

sew sew sew...

oooo awww...If my mother saw this she would say I needed to use orange thread..which I did need to but..you can see it a lot better and its for a 2 year old..so I don't feel that bad for using black...

Then you insert the elastic into the fold, gather the material up until the elastic comes out the end….if you have tiny fingers and an amazing husband you can get him to do it…i do not have photos…I figured..thats just mean.

Once your elastic ends are together, zig zag the ends together…

I did a straight stitch instead of a zig zag...either works...

Here comes a little tricky part, to join your ends, fold the material in and sew on top of one another so no rugged end is exposed. Then take your two ends of the fabric and stitch a straight line again..

I don't know if this helps but I'm a visual learner so maybe it helps...

Here is the bottom completed piece!

hanna likes to wear it as a hat....

So tonight I plan to…add the brown shoulder piece and then cut out pebbles….Hanna only took a 30 minute nap so I’m hoping I’ll be able to accomplish that much if not..

theres always nap time tomorrow!
Amanda

Leave a Reply

